2nd round matches begin on Friday

The second round of matches of the 10-team ABG Bashundhara Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football will begin Friday, with two matches scheduled for the day at Mymensingh and Munshiganj.

Federation Cup champions Dhaka Mohammedan SC will play Sheikh Russel KC at 2:30 pm at the Rafique Uddin Bhuiyan Stadium in Mymensingh, while Rahmatganj MFS will also encounter Brothers Union Club at 2:30 pm at the Bir Shreshtha Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj on Friday.

On the following day (Saturday), three matches are scheduled to be held at three venues.

Holders Bashundhara Kings will play Chittagong Abahani Ltd at the Bir Shreshtha Lt Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj, Dhaka Abahani Ltd will face Fortis FC at the Muktijoddha Smriti Stadium in Rajshahi, while Sheikh Jamal DC will meet Police FC at the Rafique Uddin Bhuiyan Stadium in Mymensingh. All will kick off at 2:30 pm.

The third round of matches will be held on January 12 and 13.

On completion of the first round matches, holders Bashundhara Kings, Dhaka Mohammedan SC, Bangladesh Police FC and Sheikh Russel KC dominated the league table, securing the full three points from their first round matches.

Earlier in the first round of matches, Bashundhara Kings outplayed Brothers Union Club 5-2, Dhaka Mohammedan SC beat Fortis SC 2-1, Police FC defeated Chittagong Abahani Ltd 2-0, Sheikh Russel KC beat Sheikh Jamal DC 2-1, and six-time champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd played a 1-1 draw with Rahmatganj MFS.

The BPL matches are scheduled to be held every Friday and Saturday of the week.

Rent for add