2nd phase of BPL begins today


The second phase of TVS Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) football begins tomorrow (Sunday) with 12th round matches with two matches billed for the day at two separate venues across the country.

Defending champions Bashundhara Kings take on new comers Swadhinata Krira Sangha at Muktijoddha Smrity Stadium in Rajshahi while Lieutenant Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club will play against Uttar Baridhara Club at Sheikh Fazlul Haque Mani Stadium in Gopalganj. Both the matches kicks off at 3.30 pm.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra will play against Abahani Limited, Dhaka at Sheikh Fazlul Haque Mani Stadium in Gopalganj, Bangladesh Police Football Club meets Saif Sporting Club at Muktijoddha Smrity Stadium in Rajshahi, old Dhaka outfit Rahmatganj Muslim and Friends Society play against Chittagong Abahani Limited at Sylhet District Stadium , Sylhet and Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra meet Mohammedan Sporting Club in their home venue Bashundhara Sports Complex in the city in the remaining 12th round matches will be held on the flowing day (April 25).

After the first round of the league, it has become very clear that which team will be fighting for the championship. Bashundhara Kings are at the top of the table with 26 points from 11 matches.

Abahani Limited stand at second position with 22 points while Sheikh Jamal DC placed at third position with 21 points. Understandably, the Kings are in a good position to win their hat-trick title.

As winning hat-trick title beacons Bashundhara Kings, six times league champions Abahani also on the race to win the league title. If the sky blue Dhanmondi outfit, who won the Independence Cup and Federation Cup this season, can win the last trophy of the season, they will have a great season.

Chittagong Abahani also on the race to become the champion in the league with 21 points from 11 matches. However, it’s a difficult challenge for Mohammedan to win the title as they have 17 points from 11 matches.

Among the big budget teams, Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra could not show up to their mark as they stand at eighth position in the table with 10 points from 11 matches.

New comers Swadhinata Krira Sangha is placed at bottom of the table with six points from 11 matches.

Uttara Baridhara Club is placed at tenth position with eight points while Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra stand at eleventh position with seven points from 11 outings.

Rent for add