Federation Cup Football

Kings reach final eliminating Abahani 3-0

Bashundhara Kings, which clinched BPL title for a record 5th times in a row with three matches spare last Saturday, smartly reached the final of the Federation Cup Football’24 eliminating six-time BPL champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd by 3-0 goal in the 2nd semifinal at the Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni Stadium in Gopalganj Tuesday afternoon.

They will play final next Wednesday (May 22) instead of Tuesday (May 21) for local Upazila election, at the Rafiq Uddin Bhuiyan Stadium in Mymensingh against defending champions Dhaka Mohamnedan SC, who made a final berth for the 2nd successive times eliminating  Bangladesh Police FC by 2-1 goal in the first semifinal last Tuesday.

With the day’s feat, Bashundhara Kings poised for clinching the treble crown in the season for the first time after winning the Independence Cup and Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football  title.

In the day’s 2nd semifinal, captain cum Brazilian striker Robson Robinho, another Brazilian forward Dorielton Gomez and substitute forward  Mohammad Ibrahim scored one each for the star studded Bashundhara Kings, which dominated the first half by 1-0 goal.

Brazilian striker Robson Robinho put the Kings ahead from a counter attack in the 21st minute by a clever shot from goalmouth melee, off a Rakib pass, utlizing a wrong pass of Abahani captain Rahmat Mia (1-0).

Later, he was adjudged player of the match.

BPL leading scorer cum Brazilian forward Dorielton Gomez scored the 2nd goals for the Kings in the 71st minute by a good header from danger zone, capitalizing on a right wing cross from Rakib (2-0).

Substitute forward Mohammad  Ibrahim sealed fate of the match scoring the 3rd goal for the Kings in the 6th minute of the added time (90+6 minute),  capitalizing on a free kick taken by Robson Robinho from top of the box (3-0) depriving Dhaka Ahahani from any trophy of this season.

Earlier, Abahani escaped goal in the 15th minute when their long serving custodian Shahidul Alam Sohel made two repeated mistake in the danger zone.

With the day’s outcome, Bashundhara Kings established their absolute supremacy over Dhaka Abahani in this season winning all four matches.

Bashundhara Kings beat Dhaka Abahani Ltd twice in the BPL, first by 2-0 goal in the first phase in Gopalganj on January 26, beat Abahani again  by 2-1 goal in the 2nd phase in Bashundhara Kings Arena on May 4 after crushing Dhaka Abahani by 4-0 goal in the Independence Cup semifinal in last December, apart from day’s 3-0 victory

Earlier, Dhaka Mohammedan SC beat Sheikh Russel KC 2-1,  BPL champions Bashundhara Kings defeated Rahmatganj MFS 2-0, Police FC outplayed Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club 3-0 and Dhaka Abahani Ltd beat Fortis FC 3-1 in their respective quarterfinals to reach the semifinals of the ongoing Federation Cup Football.

Rent for add