33-member picked up for camp of FIFA WC qualifiers

The national teams committee of Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) today picked up 33-memebr preliminary squad for the national team’s residential training camp ahead of the FIFA World Cup 2022 Qatar (Qualifiers).

The camp is expected to begin from (Wednesday) May 12 under the supervision of head coach Jamie Day. The English born Bangladesh national football team’s head coach Jamie is expected to arrive in Dhaka from United Kingdom along with assistant coach Stuart Watkiss and goalkeeper coach les Cleevely On Monday (May 10).

The national teams committee’s virtual meeting, presided by it’s chairman and BFF vice president Kazi Nabil Ahmed, held today.

In the meeting the national booters have been asked to join the residential training camp either Monday or Tuesday (May 10/11) at the hotel Intercontinental ahead of their FIFA World Cup 2022 Qatar (qualifiers) matches.

There are no surprises in the preliminary squad as Tutul Hossain Badsha, who was picked up for the Tri national tournament against Nepal, has been excluded from the squad while Topu Barman, Tariq Kazi and Mohammad Ibrahim have backed in the side. Among the 33 footballers, 28 are seniors and the remaining five booters are from under-23 teams.

The national team is expected to leave for Qatar on May 21/22 to play their remaining three FIFA world cup 2022 Qatar (qualifiers) matches scheduled to be held on June 3, 7 and 15. The BFF also request the Qatar football association to arrange two practice matches on June 25/26 and 29 against the local selection.

The national teams committee again nominated former nation footballer Iqbal Hossain as team manager of the national team while Monjur Alom Mojnu has been nominated as the team observer for the Qatar bound team.

The Bashundhara Kings players, who will take part in the AFC Cup match in the Maldives, will join the national team later stage.

Preliminary squad – Anisur Rahman, Bishwanath Ghosh, Rimon Hossain, Masuk Miah Zoni, Biplo Ahamed, Mahbubur Rahman, Matin Miah, Topu Barman, Mohammad Ibrahim, Tariq Raihan Kazi, Sahidul Alam, Sohel Rana, Saad Uddin, Rahmat Mia, Riyadul Hasan, Yeasin Arafat, Jamal Bhuyan, Mehedi Hasan, Mehadi Hasan (Royal), Emon, Ashraful Islam Rana, Abdullah, Manik Hossain Molla, Rakib Hossain, Razaul Karim, Habibur Rahman Sohag, Suman Reza and Mohammad Jewel.

U-23 players- Mitul Marma, Mohammad Atikuzzaman, Abu Shaeid, Imran Hasan Rimon and Foysal Ahmed Fahim.


Rent for add