Former champions Dhaka Abahani, Dhaka Mohammedan win

Former champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd and Federation Cup champions Dhaka Mohammedan SC maintained their winning run in the 4th round of the 10-team ABG Bashundhara Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football at two separate  venues across the countries on Saturday.

Dhaka Abahani registered the 2nd sucessive win beating another former champions Sheikh Russel KC by 3-1 goals at the Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni Stadium in Gopalganj.

They dominated the first half by 2-0 goals.

Brazilian midfielder Jonathon Fernandes put Abahani ahead in the 12th minute (1-0) while St. Vincent forward Stewart doubled the Abahani margin in the stoppage time of the first half (45+2 minute).

Local striker Sumon Reza pulled the Sheikh Russel margin one back scoring one goal in the 73rd minute ( 2-1).

Later, Stewart sealed the fate of the match scoring his 2nd goal in the 85th minute (3-1).

Dhaka Mohammedan SC maintained their 2nd slot intact in the league table beating Bangladesh Police FC by 3-2 goals  at the Rafiq Uddin Bhuiyan Stadium in Mymensingh.

The match was locked in 1-1 goals in the first half.

Local forward Jafar Iqbal scored first for Dhaka Mohammedan in the 27th minute (1-0) while Colombian booter Palacios leveled the margin for Police in the 34th minute (1-1).

Uzbek booter Muzaffarov again put Mohammedan ahead in the 70th minute (2-1) while Mali forward Souleymane Diabate further widen the Mohammedan margin in the 78th minute  (3-1).

Later, Shahed Miah reduced the Police FC margin scoring one more goal in the 84th minute (3-2).

After the day’s 4th round matches, Dhaka Mohammedan SC maintained their 2nd slot in the league table securing ten points with three wins and draw while Dhaka Abahani Ltd remained at the 3rd slot securing seven points with two wins, one draw and one defeat

BPL and Independence Cup champions  Bashundhara Kings comfortably dominated the league table with  all win record securing full 12  points from straight four matches.

The day’s other league match between two lowly teams –Chittagong Abahani Ltd and Brothers Union Club– ended in 2-2 draw at the Bir Shreshtha Fl Lt Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj.

Former national striker Mahbubur Rahman Sufil scored both the goals for Brothers Union in the 12th and 53rd minutes while Mannaf Rabby and Nasir Chowdhury scored one each for Ctg Abahani in the 80th and 82rd minutes.

The 5th round matches will be held on next Friday and Saturday

Rent for add