Stage set for AFC Women’s Asian Cup Qualifiers

The hopefuls for the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022 learnt of their opponents following the conclusion of the draw for the Qualifiers at the AFC House in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on Thursday.

The 28 teams were drawn into four groups of four and four groups of three, with the winners of each group clinching their place in the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022, scheduled to take place from January 20 to February 6.

Defending champions Japan, 2018 runners-up Australia and third-placed China PR as well as hosts India have already qualified for the Finals, which will see an expanded 12 teams competing for the continent’s premier women’s national team title.

Group A will have three-time champions Chinese Taipei, Bahrain, Turkmenistan and Laos , while Group B will see Vietnam, Tajikistan, Maldives and Afghanistan vying for the sole spot available in the Finals.

Group C consists three-time winners DPR Korea, Singapore, Iraq and Indonesia with Myanmar, United Arab Emirates, Guam and Lebanon making up Group D.

Group E will see 2003 runners-up Korea Republic, Uzbekistan and Mongolia, in contention with Philippines, Hong Kong and Nepal the cast for Group F.

Jordan – the 2018 hosts, Islamic Republic of Iran and Bangladesh make up Group G while 1983 winners Thailand, Palestine and Malaysia will fight for AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022 qualification in Group H.

AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022 Qualifiers

Group A: Chinese Taipei (H), Bahrain, Turkmenistan, Laos.
Group B: Vietnam, Tajikistan (H), Maldives, Afghanistan.
Group C: DPR Korea, Singapore, Iraq, Indonesia (H).
Group D: Myanmar (H), United Arab Emirates, Guam, Lebanon.
Group E: Korea Republic, Uzbekistan (H), Mongolia.
Group F: Philippines, Hong Kong, Nepal (H).
Group G: Jordan, Islamic Republic of Iran, Bangladesh (H).
Group H: Thailand, Palestine, Malaysia.

Rent for add